FBD Macra na Feirme Young Farmer of the Year

The FBD Young Farmer of the Year Awards are run annually by Macra na Feirme in partnership with the IFA. The competition was launched in 1999 and has been successful in raising the profile of young farmers within their community by recognising their achievements and contribution to farming.

Competition Categories:

  1. Drystock - Beef and Sheep Farmers
  2. Dairy
  3. Land Mobility - Collaborative arrangements, shared milking, contract rearing or farm manager.
  4. Other Enterprises- Tillage, pigs, poultry etc.

Additional Awards:

  1. Emerging Young Farmer - A farmer who is under 23 years of age.
  2. Most Climate Change Conscious Young Farmer
  3. The National Rural Network Biodiversity Award 
  4. Best Farm Manager

 Dara Killeen, a dairy farmer from Co Galway was crowned the 2020/21 Young Farmer of the Year

For the first year ever, this final was held virtually on 24th of November.
Missed the live final? Don't worry you can view it here

Competition rules