Who Will Be FBD/Macra na Feirme Young Farmer of the Year?

Post on: Wed, 31, January 2018

The awards ceremony takes place next Tuesday 28th of November in Mayo

It’s one of the most prestigious awards in the Irish agriculture sector and Macra na Feirme is pleased to announce that we will crown the 2017 Young Farmer of the Year on Tuesday evening November 28th at the Breaffy House Hotel in Castlebar, Co. Mayo. Young farmers involved in sectors such as beef, dairy, sheep and others (including horticulture, pigs, poultry and tillage) will compete for the title.

Macra na Feirme National President James Healy said, ‘The Young Farmer of the Year competition has gone from strength to strength since the inaugural competition in 1999 thanks in no small part to sponsors FBD and our partners, the IFA. The competition is a fantastic showcase of the enormous talent and potential that exists within the Irish agriculture sector. Last year’s winner Kevin Moran has been a fantastic ambassador for the competition and I look forward to greeting his successor next week.’

The winners of each sector will be announced on Tuesday afternoon on the day, and will progress to the final awards taking place that evening. On Tuesday afternoon members of the media are invited to take part in a tour of 2016 winner Kevin Moran’s farm where he will take guests around his 79 hectare dairy enterprise.

The winner of the 2017 FBD/Macra na Feirme Young Farmer of the Year will receive a travel bursary and the opportunity to experience farm practices abroad while developing their skills. There will also be a new ‘Future Farmer’ award this year for an emerging young farmer under the age of 23. As in previous years, county winners will also receive an award.