Macra na Feirme and ABP Recognise Young Leaders

Macra na Feirme and ABP Recognise Young Leaders

Macra Agricultural Skillnet recognised its outstanding young leaders at the 2020 ABP National Leadership Awards tonight, Wednesday 2nd on Zoom.

The winners were:

  • John Keane, Devils Bit Macra, North Tipperary
  • Helen Dempsey, Mountmellick Macra, Laois
  • Helen Hayes, Devils Bit Macra, North Tipperary

The other finalists were:

  • John O Driscoll, Caheragh Macra, Carbery Region, Cork
  • Claire Gough, Athboy Macra, Meath
  • Jonathan Dwyer, Devils Bit Macra, North Tipperary

The purpose of the competition is to promote Young Leaders and acknowledge the volunteers in Macra and the massive amount of work they put into developing their local communities.

“The participants across the competition demonstrated the best in leadership which Macra na Feirme is famous for developing. The deserving winners are those who have gone above and beyond to grow the organisation and mature as leaders themselves”, Macra National President Thomas Duffy said. 

The evening heard from Eoin Ryan on behalf of ABP, who announced the winners. “ABP is delighted to be associated once again with the National Leadership Awards. I would like to commend all of the participants and particularly finalists on their achievement in reaching this stage of the competition and I wish them every success in the future. In what has been an unprecedented year,  it is inspiring to experience first-hand the enthusiasm, energy and leadership that each of the finalists has demonstrated throughout the finals process and to learn about their positive impact in Macra and in their local communities”.

The event was hosted by Ruairi McKiernan, charity founder, social innovator, podcast host and Irish author. Sarah Colgan, one of the founders behind the 20x20 women in sport campaign also joined on the evening and spoke of the success of the campaign.

This year's six finalists were judged by a panel comprised of:

Seamus Phelan (Macra na Ferime Past President)

Joanne Fearon (UCC)

Eoin Ryan (ABP Food Group)