Board of Directors

Board of Directors

Macra na Feirme, Ireland’s young farmer and rural youth organisation is a company limited by guarantee not having share capital and a registered charity with the Revenue Commissioners and Charities Regulatory Authority.

Macra na Feirme members participate in a suite of programmes and activities at club and county level.  Competitions are organised at National level, with clubs competing at county level to represent their County in National finals.

Macra na Feirme, while a 26-county, organisation has 31 County Executives because County Cork is divided into 5 county regions and Tipperary into two regions.

Young people are involved in clubs, competitions, and activities who are members of Macra na Feirme may be elected to positions of responsibility within their Club, County or to National Council. National Council is a group of 37 people which meets 5-6 times per year.  National Council is a representative body of the membership of Macra na Feirme who decide the advocacy policy of the organisation, the competition rules and elect the Board of Directors.

The Board of Directors are responsible for deciding the strategic direction of Macra na Feirme.  The Board is made up of 10 members (National President, 3 Vice Presidents, Ex-President, and 4 other members elected from National Council) and 3 external independent directors who are appointed for their expertise and skills.

The current board members are:

  • Elaine Houlihan, Macra National President
  • John Keane, Past President
  • Aishling O Keeffe, Vice-President Munster
  • Patrick Jordan, Vice-President, Leinster
  • Robert Lally, Vice President, North-West
  • Caroline O Keeffe, National Chairperson
  • Sarah Kelly, Vice-Chairperson
  • Stephanie Blewitt, National Secretary
  • William Buckley, National Treasurer
  • Sean Kelly, Member
  • Noel Flavin, Independent
  • David Fitzgerald, Independent
  • Maria Kenny, Independent