The Presidential Race is on

The Presidential Race is on

The Macra Presidential Candidates Announced

The Macra na Feirme 38th Presidential and Vice-Presidential nomination process is now complete.

The nomination process for Macra na Feirme’s presidential and vice-presidential candidates has now closed and the election candidates have been announced. Bi-annually, Macra clubs elect a new National President and three Vice Presidents to represent the young farmers and rural youth organisation. This year’s candidates include:

Candidates for National President

  • John Keane, North Tipperary
  • Daniel Long, South Tipperary

Leinster Vice President Candidates

  • Claire Gough, Meath

Munster Vice President Candidates

  • Áine McCarthy, Imokilly, Cork
  • Elaine Houlihan, Limerick

North West Vice President Candidates

  • Luna Orofiamma, Cavan

Each candidate will be profiled in the Macra na Feirme election booklet which will be available on the Macra na Feirme Website next week. The election will take place in the Irish Farm Centre in Dublin on Wednesday April 7th and the elected candidates will take up office at the Macra AGM. Ballot papers will be issued on Wednesday March 17th. The deadline for ballots is 1pm on the 7th of April.

A series of hustings will take place virtually on Zoom starting next week. Registration links will be available on our website.

  • Wednesday 10th March         Leinster
  • Friday 12th March                   Northwest
  • Monday 15th March               Munster
  • Friday 19th March                   Leinster
  • Monday 22nd March               Northwest
  • Wednesday 24th March         Munster

“Election season is always an exciting time of year even if this year will be different from others. Every effort will be made to ensure, despite restrictions, all members have the ability to exercise their democratic right,” said National President and Returning Officer Thomas Duffy.

Candidate profiles and contact details will be available next week at