Who Will Be Crowned Macra’s Club of the Year 2024?

Who Will Be Crowned Macra’s Club of the Year 2024?

The Macra Club of the Year and Best New Member competition is back for 2024. National Broadband Ireland are kindly sponsoring this competition for a fourth year in a row. Applications open on Monday 20th May 2024.The Club of the Year competition is designed to encourage clubs to be dynamic and active, rewarding their achievements and contributions at both a local and national level. Clubs will be assessed on planning and execution of their development strategy, involvement in the club’s local community and the level of club members’ participation.

Applications will close on 31st July with regional round interviews taking place in August. Twelve clubs will be chosen to go through to the final of Club of the Year 2024 which will take place on Sunday 27th October in Lawlor’s of Naas, County Kildare. For the final, Clubs will be asked to make their very own club promotional video and on the day of the final, clubs will set up a display and have a final interview before the crowning of the 2024 Club of the Year that evening. There will also be prizes for regional winners and Best Emerging Winner.

Niall Beirne, Head of Corporate Communications at National Broadband Ireland, commented: “NBI are delighted to continue our partnership with Macra by again sponsoring their Club of the Year award for 2024. Throughout our association with Macra, we have been encouraged to see the adoption and widespread use of technology by the clubs in terms of developing their strategies. As Ireland is fast becoming the most connected country in Europe, it’s important that we all take advantage of the opportunities that connectivity brings.

As part of the Club of the Year competition, an award for Best New Member is presented to a Macra member from each region: Leinster, Munster, and the Northwest. This member must have joined Macra for the first time between 1st March 2023 and 29th February 2024 and who is deemed by their club to have made a significant contribution to the development of the club during their first year of membership. Applications for Best New Member 2024 will also open on 20th May and close on 31st July 2024. Shortlisting will take place in August and the top twelve members will be invited to interview at the final on 27th October in Lawlor’s of Naas. Winners will be crowned that evening before the Club of the Year is announced.

Macra National President, Elaine Houlihan, said “The Club of the Year and Best New Member Awards highlight and recognise our members’ commitment to their clubs and wider communities. Macra is delighted to have sponsorship from NBI for this prestigious competition and I look forward to seeing who will be crowned the 2024 Club of the Year.”

Freemount Macra, from County Cork were crowned 2023 Club of the Year winners and are pictured below at their club display in the Shearwater Hotel, Ballinasloe, County Galway in October 2023.

For full details of the 2024 competition please visit www.macra.ie/collections/awards